Contact Us

Street Address:
487 Leff Street
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-4347

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 1289
San Luis Obispo, CA 93406

Phone: (805) 543-4478
Fax: (805) 543-4992
Maintenance Fax: (805) 541-2973
Housing Mgmt Fax: (805) 595-1372

Name *

San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-4347


The Housing Authority of the City of San Luis Obispo (HASLO) has a mission to assist the counties lower income citizens secure and maintain long-term housing. It is a mission the Housing Authority takes very seriously and executes  creatively and diligently.

Board of Commissioners and Staff


HASLO is governed by a seven-member Board of Commissioners, two of whom are Housing Authority residents.  The Mayor of the City of San Luis Obispo appoints the board members, subject to confirmation by the San Luis Obispo City Council.  The Commissioners are responsible for approving the agency's annual budget and for setting policy.


      Members of the Board of Commissioners:

Jay C. Beck, Chair - Banker 

Anthony Chubon, Vice-Chair - Housing Authority Executive Director, Retired

David Booker - Banker, retired

Marti Reed - Job Development and Training Specialist

Elizabeth Steinberg - CEO, Community Action Partnership of San Luis Obispo County (CAPSLO)

Patricia Souza - Senior Representative

Aimee La Rue - Family Representative


The regular Board of Commissioner meetings are open to the public and are usually held on the third Thursday of the month at 12:00 noon at HASLO located at 487 Leff Street in San Luis Obispo. Please note: The February Board of Commissioners meeting has been rescheduled to February 28, 2019.

If you would like to send written comments to the Board of Commissioners, please email them at Please note that comments will be sent to the Board of Commissioners and select staff.  Email correspondence sent to or from members of the Board of Commissioners via this email address is considered public record and may be subject to disclosure and additional distribution pursuant to the Public Records Act and the Brown Act.

Written correspondence can also be sent to:

Attn:  Board of Commissioners
487 Leff Street
San Luis Obispo, CA  93401

fax:  (805) 543-4992

key staff

Scott Smith, Executive Director

Ken Litzinger, Director of Finance

Elaine Archer, Director of Housing Management

Sandra Bourbon, Director of Resident Services

Michael Burke, Director of Construction and Development